I know I am behind on this but hear me out please.

I would like to come on a different point of view of Shadows. When we think of Shadows we think of the dark corners of the room or the person that follows us. Well I’m going to talk about a different shadow. It’s something that almost every Soldier battles or will battle. Not ISIS but PTSD.

PTSD or post-traumatic stress disorder, is a mental health issue some people develop after experiencing or witnessing a life-threatening event like combat, a car accident, etc. etc. Some of the symptoms are reliving the event, avoiding situations that remind you of the event, having more negative beliefs and feelings and feeling jittery or on the watch for danger. With the current War we are fighting about 15 out of hundred veterans who served in the current war have PTSD.

Research shows that more than a quarter-million Vietnam vets struggle with this today. Many Nam vets will go to the VA for help. Yet homeless Vietnam Vet Ronald Frankford says, reffering to the VA and PTSD:

 The VAs trying to help me but…every time I feel like I’m going to get some help, I get paranoid, schizophrenic and I just take off you know, I leave. You know you can only stand the program for so long and I tried to stand the program but… you can only stand the program for so long and I’m scared to death of reality… because I don’t know how to cope with it.

 My own uncle deals with PTSD after serving in the current War. He told me about how he’s messed up now because of War. He told me of an experience where he was guarding the other soldiers in a Watchtower and he heard a loud noise that sounded as if it were right next to him. He turned to look and saw a huge explosion. It was later reported that six U.S. Airmen were killed. He said although he didn’t know those six Airmen, he was livid because those men were like Brothers to him.

He now has to be on medication for it for all soldiers it is a battle within. It is a dark shadow.

Leave a Reply

